Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame 2020 Inductees Announced

On Wednesday, the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame announced their Class of 2020, and the Doobie Brothers and T. Rex are among the artists set to be inducted into the institution. They will be joined by Depeche Mode, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails and The Notorious B.I.G. at the upcoming 35th annual Induction event, to be held this spring.

The six inductees were chosen from a field of 16 nominees, with The Doobie Brothers, The Notorious B.I.G., T. Rex and Whitney Houston gaining entry on their first ballot consideration; artist managers Jon Landau (Bruce Springsteen) and Irving Azoff (The Eagles) are also being recognized with the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The Dave Matthews Band was among those overlooked after winning the Fan Ballot with more than a million votes. Fellow top 5 artists Pat Benatar, Soundgarden and Judas Priest also didn’t make the cut this year.  

The induction ceremony will take place May 2 at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland. For the first time, HBO will broadcast the event live, rather than edited and aired at a later date. The HOF will announce the performers, presenters and other guests in the weeks leading up to the event. 

Tickets for the ceremony go on sale to the general public via Ticketmaster on Feb. 27 at 10AM ET, with a pre-sale for donors beginning Feb. 25.

Doobie Brothers, NIN, T-Rex and Depeche Mode Inducted Into Rock Hall


Editorial credit: Allen.G /