Rock Daypop Archives

Paul Simon Returns To Old Favorites With New Album ‘In the Blue Light’

Paul Simon is remastering some of his classic songs for his new LP titled In the Blue Light.  Simon co-produced this studio project with longtime collaborator Roy Halee. Simon reached back to selected songs from 1973’s There Goes Rhymin’ Simon, 1975’s Still Crazy After All These Years, 1980’s One-Trick Pony, 1983’s Hearts and Bones, 1990’s The Rhythm of the Saints, 2000’s You’re the One and 2011’s So Beautiful or So What. The songs have been redone with new arrangements and guest stars, including Wynton Marsalis and Bill Frisell. A complete track listing is below.  In the Blue Light is due to be released on Sept. 7.. ...Read Full Story

Amy Lee Confirms Evanescence Are Planning First Studio Album Since 2011

Evanescence frontwoman Amy Lee says the band is in the beginning stages of preparation for the follow-up to their third studio album, 2011’s Evanescence. It will be the first record of all-original material from the band in about eight years. The last Evanescence album, 2017’s Synthesis, consisted of only a few new songs and re-workings of some of the band’s greatest hits. Evanescence’s band members — Lee, bassist Tim McCord, drummer Will Hunt, lead guitarist/backing vocalist Troy McLawhorn and guitarist/background vocalist Jen Majura — are currently on the “Synthesis Live” tour. Dates run through Sept. 8 in Ridgefield, Wash, with Lindsey Stirling co-headlining the shows.Stirling is a violinist, dancer and YouTube star who performs on the Synthesis track “Hi-Lo.. ...Read Full Story

Twenty One Pilots Announce World Tour, Release Two New Songs

Twenty One Pilots have announced a new world tour in support of their upcoming fifth studio album, Trench, launching in October. Trench is set for release on Oct. 5 and will include the songs “Jumpsuit” and “Nico and the Niners,” which were released on YouTube and music streaming platforms Wednesday. Twenty One Pilots, which consists of Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun, will embark on the Bandito Tour starting on Oct. 16 at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. The band will continue to tour in North America until Nov. 21 with a performance at the Sprint Center in Kansas City. Registration for first-access tickets through Ticketmaster’s verified fan program has begun and will last until July 15th at 11:59 p.m. ET. All remaining tickets will then go on sale to the general public starting on July 20 at 10 a.m. local time.. ...Read Full Story

Rob Zombie And Marilyn Manson Cover The Beatles’ ‘Helter Skelter’

Rob Zombie and Marilyn Manson have released their joint cover version of THE BEATLES’ classic song “Helter Skelter.”  Zombie and Manson kicked off their 29-date North American trek in Detroit, Michigan on Wednesday. The two artists previously toured together in 2012 on the “Twins Of Evil” tour. Zombie released his latest album, “The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser”, in 2016. Manson issued “Heaven Upside Down” in 2017. Listen to “Helter Skelter” below.. ...Read Full Story

Supergroup Dream Child Debuts Their Video For “Under The Wire”

Former Dio guitarist Craig Goldy has formed a new supergroup Dream Child, and they have their debut album on the way soon. “Under the Wire,” is their new video from the album Until Death Do We Meet Again. The video is an exclusive premiere of a song that will be included on the LP, which comes out on Sept. 14. The project came about when Goldy recruited former AC/DC drummer Simon Wright, Quiet Riot bassist Rudy Sarzo, Michael Schenker Group keyboardist Wayne Findlay and Helker singer Diego Valdez for a new supergroup. You can watch “Under the Wire” below!. ...Read Full Story

Green Day’s ‘American Idiot’ Re-Enters British Charts Before Trump Visit

Thanks to a social media campaign launched in May by a Twitter group calling itself “American Idiot For UK No. 1 When Trump Visits” encouraging Brits to push Green Day’s 2004 hit “American Idiot” to No. 1 on the singles charts, the track is now currently No. 18 on the Official Charts tally, and it also hit No. 1 on Amazon’s best-seller list. The song was originally written about Pres. George W. Bush and features the refrain “Welcome to a new kind of tension/ All across the alien nation/ Where everything isn’t mean to be okay/ Television dreams of tomorrow/ We’re not the ones who’re meant to follow.” . ...Read Full Story

Guns N’ Roses’ ‘Appetite for Destruction’ Returns To Top 10 On Billboard 200 Chart After Deluxe Reissue

Guns N’ Roses’ classic 1987 debut album, Appetite for Destruction, returns to the top 10 on the Billboard 200 chart after more than 29 years. The former No. 1 re-enters at No. 10, following its deluxe remastered reissue on June 29.  For tracking and charting purposes, all versions of Appetite for Destruction are combined;  the album was reissued in a variety of formats: the standard 12-track remastered album, a new deluxe edition with 18 bonus tracks, a double vinyl LP set, a 73-track super deluxe set, and a limited edition Locked N’ Loaded box set with four CDs, a blu-ray disc, seven vinyl LPs and seven 7” vinyl singles. Additionally, one of the set’s new bonus tunes — a previously unreleased version of the track “Shadow of Your Love” — has peaked at No. 5 on the Mainstream Rock Songs airplay chart. Appetite for Destruction debuted on the Billboard 200 dated Aug. 29, 1987 at No. 182 and eventually reached No. 1 nearly a year later, on the Aug. 6, 1988-dated list. The set spent five nonconsecutive weeks at No. 1 and finished 1988 as the No. 6 biggest album on the Billboard 200.. ...Read Full Story