All Incumbents Win In St. Joseph City Commission Election

There will be no changes to the St. Joseph City Commission, as all three incumbents have earned another term. Voters on Tuesday gave the collective nod to Commissioners Laura Goos, Jeff Richards, and Lynn Todman. Turnout was just under 25%. Former city communications director Susan Solon came in fourth in the race, followed by former deputy public safety director and retired FBI agent Al DiBrito and then Shawn Hill.

Goos, Richards, and Todman all tell WSJM News their top priorities for the next term include finalizing the city’s next master plan. Both Richards and Goos mentioned finding ways to protect the city’s shoreline from erosion as well, as Lake Michigan’s high water level isn’t expected to recede much this fall due to a wet October.

Final unofficial vote totals:

Lynn Todman – 909

Laura Goos – 844

Jeff Richards – 789

Susan Solon – 766

Al DiBrito – 652

Shawn Hill – 514